Centre appoints 19 members to CESTAT


The central government has appointed 7 Judicial Members and 12 Technical Members to the Customs Excise & Service Tax Appellate Tribunal (CESTAT). According to an order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) on Thursday (15.09.2022), the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the proposal of the Department of Revenue for appointment of following candidates in the CESTAT for a period of four years or till attaining the age of 67 years, whichever is earlier.

The names of the candidates are :

Judicial Member

  1. Ashok Jindal, Former Judicial Member, CESTAT
  2. D M Mishra, Former Judicial Member, CESTAT
  3. Shyam Sunder Garg, Former Judicial Member, CESTAT
  4. Somesh Arora, Advocate
  5. R Muralidhar, Advocate
  6. P A Augustian, Advocate
  7. Binu Tamta, Advocate

Technical Member

  1. P Anjani Kumar, Technical Member, CESTAT
  2. Anil Gangadharrao Shekkarwar, Former Technical Member, CESTAT
  3. C L Mahar, Former Technical Member, CESTAT
  4. M Ajit Kumar, Chairman CBIC (Retd.)
  5. M M Parthiban, Principal Commissioner
  6. Hemambika R Priya, Chief Commissioner
  7. K Anpazhakan, Director General, DGGI South (Chennai)
  8. Pullela Nageshwara Rao, Principal Chief Commissioner (Retd.)
  9. Rajeev Tandon, Principal Chief Commissioner (Retd.)
  10. R Bhagya Devi, Principal Commissioner of Customs and Indirect Taxes (Retd.)
  11. Vasa Seshagiri Rao, Principal Chief Commissioner (Retd.)
  12. A K Jyotishi, Chief Commissioner (Retd.)