Revenue Secretary Hasmukh Adhia Designated Finance Secretary


Revenue secretary Hasmukh Adhia (IAS:1981:GJ) has been designated as Finance Secretary.Adhia,seen as one of the driving forces behind goods and survices tax, is the senior most among all five Secretaries serving under the Ministry of Finance.It may be mentioned that Neeraj Gupta (IAS:UP) and Ajay Narayan Jha (IAS:MN) belong to 1982 batch whereas Subhash Chandra Garg (IAS:RJ) and Rajiv Kumar (IAS:JH) belong to 1983 and 1984 batch respectively.

There are five departments under the finance ministry: expenditure, economic affairs, financial services, revenue and the Department of Investment and Public Asset management (DIPAM). Rajiv Kumar is the financial services secretary. Ajay Narayan Jha is the expenditure secretary and Neeraj Kumar Gupta is the secretary at DIPAM.Subhash Chandra Garg is the economic affairs secretary.

As per the convention, the senior most secretary in the finance ministry is designated as the finance secretary.