HP : Rameshwar Singh Thakur appointed as new Chairman of HPPSC


Rameshwar Singh Thakur (IPS:1994:HP) was on Thursday (25.08.2022) appointed as the new Chairman of Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission (HPPSC), a week after the state government cancelled previous appointee Rachna Gupta’s oath ceremony at the last minute. Chief Secretary R D Dhiman notified senior IPS officer Thakur’s appointment for a term of 6 years or until he turns 62.

Earlier, in a notification issued on August 17, the state government had appointed Rachna Gupta as HPPSC chairperson, with fomer IAS officer Rakesh Sharma, Col Rajesh Kumar Sharma (retd), and Om Prakash Sharma as members. In the fresh notification, Om Prakash Sharma has been replaced by Prof Nain Singh (retd).