Four central police organisations functioning without regular DGs


Four central police organisations are functioning without regular heads for varied lengths of time as the government has not appointed their full-time chiefs.

Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) director general Kumar Rajesh Chandra (IPS:1985:BH) is holding the additional charge of the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) since incumbent Rajesh Ranjan (IPS:1984:BH) retired on 30 November.

Indo-Tibetan Border Police chief S S Deswal (IPS:1984:HY) is handling the additional charge of the National Security Guard since incumbent Anup Kumar Singh (IPS:1985:GJ) retired on September 30.

Border Security Force (BSF) chief Rakesh Asthana (IPS:1984:GJ) is holding the additional charge of Narcotics Control Bureau (NCB) since July last year after incumbent DG Abhay (IPS:1986:OR) was appointed as the Director of Hyderabad-based Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy. Abhay is now serving as the DG of Odisha Police.

Special secretary (internal security) V S K Kaumudi (IPS:1986:AP) is holding the additional charge of Bureau of Police Research and Development (BPRD) since August after he was appointed to the present post in the Union home ministry.

Official sources in the ministry said the regular appointments to these posts
will take place after the meeting of the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, that is expected to be held soon.