Monsoon Session of Parliament to begin on 18 July


The Monsoon session of Parliament will commence from July 18 and end on August 10, the Cabinet Committee of Parliamentary Affairs recommended today.

The CCPA, chaired by Home Minister Rajanth Singh, met today to recommend the dates. The President will now formally convene the session.

The session will have nearly 18 sittings, Parliamentary Affairs minister Ananth Kumar told reporters.

Some key bills which are lined up for the session include the Constitution (123rd) Amendment Bill, 2017, the Triple Talaq bill, Transgender Bill, the Indian Arbitration Council Act, 2017, and the Specific Relief (Amendment) Bill, 2018.

The election to the post of Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha would also be held during the session as the term of P. J. Kurien is ending this month.

This session is crucial as the Budget session, the previous session of Parliament, was mostly a washout. The session saw utilisation of just 1 per cent of its allotted time in Lok Sabha and 6 per cent in the Rajya Sabha.