Sunil Arora appointed as Chief Election Commissioner, to take charge on Dec 2

Spread the love

Election Commissioner Sunil Arora (Retd IAS:1980:RJ) has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and will succeed Om Prakash Rawat (Retd IAS:1977:MP). Arora will take charge as 23rd CEC on December 2.

Arora was appointed to Election Commission of India in September 2018 to fill the vacancy created by former CEC Nasim Zaidi’s retirement. He has held several important portfolios as Centre and state level during his long career.

He had been the Information and Broadcasting Secretary, and Secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

He has also worked in ministries and departments such as Finance, Textiles and Planning Commission.

He served as Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation during 1999-2002 and CMD, Indian Airlines for five years.

In Rajasthan, besides district postings in Dholpur, Alwar, Nagaur and Jodhpur, he was Secretary to the Chief Minister during 1993-1998 and Principal Secretary to CM (2005- 2008) and handled Information and Public Relations (IPR), Industries and Investment Departments.